42nd Session ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee Opening Ceremony

Guest of Honour:

Dr Yaacob Ibrahim

Minister for the Environment and Water Resources Singapore

8.00 am Registration

9.00 am Commencement of Opening Ceremony

9.00 am Welcome Address by -

Mr Foong Chee Leong

Director-General, Meteorological Services Division

National Environment Agency, Singapore

9.05 am Address by -

Mr Olavo Rasquinho

Secretary of Typhoon Committee

In representation of the Chairman of Typhoon Committee

9.10 am Address by -

Dr Tokiyoshi Toya

Representative of World Meteorological Organisation (WMO)

9.15 am Address by -

Mr Wu Guoxiang

Representative of United Nations – Economic and Social Commission for Asia

and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP)

9.20 am Inauguration Address by -

Dr Yaacob Ibrahim

Minister for the Environment and Water Resources

Singapore

9.30 am Presentation of the *Dr Roman L. Kintanar Award for Typhoon Related*

Disaster Mitigation – 2009

9.35 am Group Photo-taking Session

10.00 am Tea Reception/ End of Opening Ceremony